What They Don’t Tell You

So surgery and weight loss surgery has lots of unexpected things happen. First- the gas pain, they fill your stomach with CO2 so they have room to work during a laproscopic surgery. Holy crap! The gas pain is very uncomfortable. I was up walking within an hour of waking up from surgery, so I did all the walking that I could possibly do. Bring a heating pad, this is very soothing! Buy all the things that you will need after surgery, before you have surgery. It is very stressful trying to go into the store and shop, people don’t really get it. Restaurants are off the list for at least 2 months. I tried going out with the family, it totally didn’t work out. The waitress just couldn’t get it together with my food, so I ended up not eating.

The calorie intake requirement that they give you at 3 weeks are unrealistic, you will usually eat less- if your doctor gave you a calorie intake goal.

Bring your own pillow with you to the hospital, and put it in a colorful pillow case, that way you know it is yours. Popsicles are a life saver, and a nice treat. Some of the foods that you loved before surgery are just not going to happen, even if they say you can have them. I can’t tolerate chicken right now- sad, but true. I vomit every time I have tried eggs- including just whites, egg beaters, or fake eggs. Something about the texture gets me every time. We will try in a few weeks and see. You will not be hungry- ever. That is lovely, but also now eating has become a chore. I am focusing on only protein shakes. Find different recipes to make your protein taste good, otherwise you will get really sick of them fast.

You will gain weight in the hospital, from all the fluids. And you will lose weight really fast for about 2-3 weeks after discharge. While you are on your period, you may not lose any weight at all, which will be frustrating. Just roll with it. If you weight yourself every day, do it in the morning, after you go potty. Track all your food with an app, or with pen and paper. Don’t be ashamed of your surgery. Most people that I have talked to have been amazed, and very receptive. I have heard negative things from some people, and their comments hurt, but screw them, because they don’t pay our bills, or put a roof over your head. If they do, then they could be the reason why you have overeating issues in the first place- evaluate who is in your life.

I have heard that this surgery is the easy way out- umm not even. I had people trying to talk me out of it- are you sure that you want to do this to yourself? Those dietary changes are really hard (thanks for the confidence in me…). Yes I want to do this, I want to avoid type 2, and I want to have a healthier take on life again. Again, I was confiding in these people not for empathy or anything, I was looking more for people to at least understand that this has been a struggle, and maybe that’s why I pass on going out to dinner. But, still don’t be embarrassed about your surgery – own it, be proud that you are taking control of your health.

Even if you are losing a lot of weight, people aren’t going to say anything right away, they will notice, but not enough to say a single word about it. Keep a great support group around you, this a valuable resource for continued success.

Leave a comment